cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 
Reply
wit4r7
Regular Visitor

Form Reset on button - can't save after, because required fields

Hey, 

I have created a PowerApps custom form for a SharePoint list.

 

I have one screen, which has a link to a second screen ("NewClient") which allows to create a new item in a other SharePoint list. The second screen contains two Input fields, a save button and a cancel button. After Save and Cancel the user is navigated back to screen one. 

My problem is, that when I opened the second screen, click on cancel and got navigated back, I can't save the form, because screen two contains 2 empty required fields. 

PowerApps2.png

PowerApps.png

 

So, how can I reset the form/the datacards that if I open screen two and cancel it, I still can save my screen one?

1 ACCEPTED SOLUTION

Accepted Solutions

I solved it. 

 

I'm using the "Resetform()" right now. Which I also did in the first place, but I was missing two things. First, I separated the formulas with a ; instead of combining them with a & and the second, I missed to set a variable in my App, which was necessary. 

 

So typical case for "Layer 8". 

 

Cheers, 

wit4r7

View solution in original post

4 REPLIES 4
BrianS
Super User
Super User

If I understand correctly, the second screen would be providing the info that is missing on the first screen. If the user does not provide necessary information, you don't want the form saved. If they cancel the creation of a new client, they need to provide a current client for the first form - right? Then they can save the form.

If this is incorrect, please provide additional info so we can help.

wit4r7
Regular Visitor

Not exactly.

 

I have a drop down on screen one, which is a lookup. If the necessary client is not there, the user has the possibility to go to screen two via a link and create a Client there. If he creates this customer on screen two and saves it there, he will automatically return to screen one and can also save the form.

 

However, if the User inadvertently clicks on the link, or finds that the Client already exists when creating the form, he has the option of clicking on Cancel and selecting an existing Client on screen one. Screen two was therefore only called up by mistake.

As soon as screen two is called up, screen one can no longer be saved. This should not happen. As long as all mandatory fields on screen one are filled in, saving should be possible, independent of screen two.

 

@wit4r7 

Are you still having problems with this topic or have you resolved it?

_____________________________________________________________________________________
Digging it? - Click on the Thumbs Up below. Solved your problem? - Click on Accept as Solution below. Others seeking the same answers will be happy you did.
Check out my PowerApps Videos too! And, follow me on Twitter @RandyHayes

I solved it. 

 

I'm using the "Resetform()" right now. Which I also did in the first place, but I was missing two things. First, I separated the formulas with a ; instead of combining them with a & and the second, I missed to set a variable in my App, which was necessary. 

 

So typical case for "Layer 8". 

 

Cheers, 

wit4r7

View solution in original post

Helpful resources

Announcements
PA User Group

Welcome to the User Group Public Preview

Check out new user group experience and if you are a leader please create your group

Power Query PA Forum 768x460.png

Check it out!

Did you know that you can visit the Power Query Forum in Power BI and now Power Apps

V3_PVA CAmpaign Carousel.png

Community Challenge - Giveaways!

Participate in the Power Virtual Agents Community Challenge

Carousel 2021 Release Wave 2 Plan 768x460.jpg

2021 Release Wave 2 Plan

Power Platform release plan for the 2021 release wave 2 describes all new features releasing from October 2021 through March 2022.

Top Solution Authors
Top Kudoed Authors
Users online (2,426)