cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 
Davide_PM6176

[Forms | Variables] Get object information

Hello guys,

I'm new to PowerApps and I don't understand some things:

1. In my case I have a screen with two "Form" object linked to the same Sharepoint site and list (why I use two time the same Site and list? for a look problem), in one of the two form I have a "Choise field" (imported from the sharepoint connector) called "Society" and I need to use an "If" function for make the choose shorter (I need that because I want generate a custom unique ID) so I made this:

[OnChange] (In the Society card (SharePoint data connector) [card type: Choise field])

If(Concat(DataCardValue72.SelectedItems;Value;"") = "Society1"; UpdateContext({varSocietyShort:"S1"});"NO") 

If(Concat(DataCardValue72.SelectedItems;Value;"") = "Society2"; UpdateContext({varSocietyShort:"S2"});"NO") 

If(Concat(DataCardValue72.SelectedItems;Value;"") = "Society3"; UpdateContext({varSocietyShort:"S3"});"NO") 

The problem is: Im sure the "If" function work because if I take a "Label" and I put in the same level of the data card in the "Tree view" with this function:

[Text] (Label setting)

If(Concat(DataCardValue72.SelectedItems;Value;"") = "Society1";"S1";"NO") 

Work! But if I try to use any variable (Set or UpdateContext) the variable remain "Blank" in any case!

Another problem is if I copy the working label to the "Screen level" of the Tree View it's doesn't work!

There is a way to fix this?

Thx in advance!

Davide (or Dave)

1 ACCEPTED SOLUTION

Accepted Solutions
RandyHayes
Super User
Super User

@Davide_PM6176 

ALSO...

Make sure your form DefaultMode is set to New, or, if you really intend to have it in View or Edit, then make sure you are supplying a valid record to the Item property of the form.

I hope this is helpful for you.

_____________________________________________________________________________________