cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 
Regular Visitor

How do I calculate mileage?

Hi. I'm quite new to using PowerApps.

I'm working on a simple app where you create records to store in a Sharepoint list.

Three of the columns in each record would be "Travelling From", "Destination" and "Mileage".

The former two are Location type columns and Mileage is meant to be the distance, in miles, automatically calculated between

these two locations. I enter my starting and destination locations on my PowerApp, it calculates the mileage between them

and stores it in the record with them. Once I submit the form, a new item is created with that data in the Sharepoint list.

The question is how do I make that calculation?

Thanks.

1 ACCEPTED SOLUTION

Accepted Solutions
Microsoft
Microsoft

Hi@PurpleHaze,

Based on the issue that you mentioned, do you want to calculate the distance between two locations?

Actually, the Location column is not the most efficient choice, you can just add three Text columns in your SP list to be filled with "Travelling From", "Destination" and "Mileage".

In general, we use the Bing Map connector to locate and calculate distance. Yes, @jlindstrom provides the correct direction.

Add a Button and set the OnSelect property as below.

Set(
    Dis,
    BingMaps.GetRoute(
        TextInput1.Text,
        TextInput2.Text,
        {distanceUnit: "Mile"}
    )
)

Set the Text property of the corresponding "Mileage" control as below

Dis.travelDistance & " " & Dis.distanceUnit

002.png

Best Regards,

Qi

View solution in original post

6 REPLIES 6
Super User III
Super User III

Use the Bing Maps connector.

You will need to go to https://docs.microsoft.com/en-us/bingmaps/getting-started/bing-maps-dev-center-help/getting-a-bing-m... and get an api key

Once you have that, you can use the following expression to get the mileage between two locations

BingMaps.GetRoute(
        TextInput1.Text,
        TextInput2.Text,