cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 
VenkataSai
Frequent Visitor

How to Bulk Update different textinput values passed inside gallery and patch it to the SQL/Oracle server ?

Hello, 
I am new to Power Apps, 
I am trying to create an Excel-like editable gallery in Power Apps (as shown in the Screenshot),
PAPP COMM 1.PNG

When I try to enter three different scores for individual names (using Textinput input inside a vertical Gallery) and patch them to SQL server table using SAVE button, only one record (Score) is getting updated at a time in the SQL server table, I am unable to Patch multiple records (Scores) edited in the Gallery at a time using a Single BUTTON. 
Is it possible to update multiple records at a time with different values using a single BUTTON?
I have seen several articles but could not find an appropriate solution. Please help me with this. 

2 ACCEPTED SOLUTIONS

Accepted Solutions

@VenkataSai 

Thank-you. I should've also asked for the Items property of your gallery but I'll assume it is either a 'live' copy of your database OR a collection whose schema matches your database? If so, something like this should work:

ForAll(RenameColumns('EXCEL TYPE EDIT GALLERY'.AllItems,"ID","ID1"), 
   // here I've assumed you have a column called ID, adjust this to suit your needs 

Patch('dbo.STUDENT_TBL',
           LookUp('dbo.STUDENT_TBL', ID = ID1), // adjust ID & ID1 to your needs as per above
           {SCORE:Value('TextInput1'.Text)}
         )
)

Let me know how this goes.

View solution in original post

@VenkataSai 

Your first image shows a Dropdown that filters the gallery, are you still using this? My thoughts are that if the gallery is filter first then apply the Patch() the function won't take a long time to run. Can you try this?

If this filtering isn't an option you want for your users then we will have to work on other gallery filtering that suits your needs.

9 REPLIES 9
Eelman
Super User
Super User

@VenkataSai