cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 
Highlighted
Frequent Visitor

How to Trigger a Flow From PowerApps within OnSave Event.

I have a simple power app that customizes the form from SharePoint.  Within the app I have several forms (New/Edit/View)... From the Edit field I have two buttons (Details and Comments).  I am using the Comments Button(tab) to allow people to submit comments.  Most will not have access to the other fields linked to the Details button).  From that comments area there is a field called comments that I patch to another list...  and stores the comments ( I do this within the OnSave Event) when they click save (it checks to see if the field is blank or not first).  Then in the view form I can pull all of the Comments and view them ... OK no problem with that.

Now I have a flow that on New it does stuff... and in the old version of WorkFlows I was able to create elaborate things easily... but since I am new to PowerApps and Flow... I am getting lost int he complicated logic... so I will create a few flows to do what I did with one before.... So on New Sharepoint item... it will run a flow and does stuff.... What I want is to run another flow if someone enters and saves a comment.... So in my head it should be easy... on the save click... it does what it does and immediate after if fires off a trigger to a flow... that does what it does (like send an email or ? really doesnt matter just want to trigger it).  

I have not been able to find the simple code that would be needed to trigger a flow... (or any examples)... Most examples are on new apps... but not on Customized forms...

(Here is a pic of the onSave Event that I have been using to test this all out)ITHelpHelp.jpg

thanks in advance, 

Rob

5 REPLIES 5
Highlighted
Super User
Super User

To trigger a flow from Powerapps you have to create the flow first and then go back to PowerApps and put in the run code.