Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 
kharina
Helper V
Helper V

How to compute for total hours from timestamps inside Data Table

Hello PowerApps Team, 

I've checked posts here on how to compute for the  summary of timestamps but I cannot find a scenario with a Data Table. 

I put a data table in my app:

kharina_0-1607318857400.png

Is there a way on how I can get the total hours per day? (Start time up to End minus the breaks?)

Is this possible?

The punches comes from the clock that I put inside the app with this formula: 
Text(CurrentDateTime,"[$-en-US]dddd mm/dd/yyyy hh:mm:ss")

Thank You ,

Kharina

3 REPLIES 3

@kharina 

If the first and last record are guaranteed to be the first and last timestamps, use First and Last to get the rows, then get the cells with just the timestamp, and finally use DateDiff to calculate it. See if this helps.

Hello @poweractivate ,

I tried a couple of ways and I'm still not getting it. Sorry. I'm not very good with this. 

kharina_0-1607326846449.png

I am getting an error: Invalid argument type Text. Expecting a DateTime value instead. 
The formula that I am trying is this: DateDiff(First(Stamp).TimeStamp, Last(Stamp).TimeStamp [, "[$-en-US] hh:mm:ss" ] ).

If I separate the time: 

kharina_1-1607327007597.png

And I use the formula: Last(Stamp2).Time-First(Stamp2).Time

I am getting a zero value.
Can you help me fix my formula please?

Thank You ,

Kharina

@kharina 

You must convert the Text values returned from the Control to DateTime values before the DateDiff function can be used to calculate the difference.

So try something like this instead:

DateTimeValue(First(Stamp).TimeStamp)

and also

DateTimeValue(Last(Stamp).TimeStamp)

Please also note, if the above does not work directly DateTimeValue, you may have to make sure it is the right format first and use more functions in different way. You can consult these following docs.microsoft.com links for more help on the appropriate functions: