cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 
AhmetUygun
Frequent Visitor

How to do Lookup in a concatenated Dropdown?

About the data:

I am using a SQL Server Connector and the data have a Person table that has " ID, firstName, and lastName and I have a student table that uses the same ID as the person table and doesn't have the name data in it. 

I have a Dropdown That shows "ID - FirstName LastName" but I only want to show the students

Concatenate(ShowColumns(Student;"personID");" - ";ShowColumns('[dbo].[Person]';"firstName");" ";ShowColumns('[dbo].[Person]';"lastName"))

this is the code of my dropdown list. It may seem crude but this is all I got. Currently what I get are the StudentIDs and all the names. I am new to the developing world and I am stuck I would gladly accept any recommendations. 

1 ACCEPTED SOLUTION

Accepted Solutions
RandyHayes
Super User
Super User

@AhmetUygun 

Luckily you are not in the development world as PowerApps is a no-code app designer! 😁

Are you stating that the formula you provided is on the Items property of your dropdown??

If you want your dropdown to only show the students and the names are all in the person table, AND there is no other identifying column in the person table to indicate a student, then you will need to do this for your Items property of the Dropdown:

ForAll(Student As _student;
    With(LookUp('[dbo].[Person]'; personID = _student.personID);
        {
            personID: personID;
            firstName: firstName;
            lastName: lastName;
            displayValue: personID & " - " & firstName & " - " & lastName
        }
    )
)

Set the display field for the dropdown to displayValue

I included the other fields from your source because usually you will want to reference the selected information in a more structured way.  Ex.  yourDropdown.Selected.personID

I hope this is helpful for you. 

_____________________________________________________________________________________