cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 
Priti1
Helper I
Helper I

How to make connection between look up field and data table in power apps?

Hello, 

I am a newbie to the Power Apps and trying to figure out the way to make a connection between the lookup field and the data connection. I am customizing the SharePoint form into power apps. 

I have a list called "Financials" and "Request Form" in SharePoint. I have created the "Unit", "Var", "Act" and "Wrk" columns in the Financials list and add a "UNIT" as a lookup column in the "Request Form". 

I cannot add the screenshot as I do not have permission to upload an image. But this is how I added in power apps. 

Now that I have the "Unit" field on the Request form getting data from the Financials list. I added a data table in the power app and connect the data source to the "Financials" list.  And added a "Unit" field from the "Request Form" list. 

What I wanted to do is when I select the "Admin" from the UNIT lookup drop down it should pull the "VAR", "ACT" and "Wrk" columns and show their data only instead of showing the entire "Financials" list data. 

UNIT - [Lookup dropdown] - I selected "Admin" from the drop-down. Now the data table should only show the first row based on the unit selection that I made from the drop-down. 

Data table: 

ActWrkVarUNIT
6.803.113.68Admin
115112287Test Account
19.8028.088.28Superuser

Is that possible in the power apps? Where should we add the condition? And what should be the condition? Any help would greatly be appreciated.

Thank you, 

Priti

1 ACCEPTED SOLUTION

Accepted Solutions
Priti1
Helper I
Helper I

Hi @WarrenBelz 

So I added this code on the Data table Item properties to filter the values based on the unit lookup field selection to filter data in the data table. And it is working the way I was looking for. 

Datacardvalue23 = Unit

Filter(Financials,'Unit' = DataCardValue23.Selected.Value)

Thanks,

View solution in original post

6 REPLIES 6