cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 
Rinceward
Level: Powered On

I need an Update if Else?

Hi All

I am very new to PowerApps but I am also finding it great to work with most of the time.

I have nearly created a guest sign in book, but I have hit a snag when trying to either update an existing record or create a new one.

I have both arguments in my code but hte are separates by a semi colon and so the app runs both commands, therefore editing one record and creating another.

My code reads

UpdateIf(Table1_14, Name =DataCardValue1.Text && Time_x0020_Out<>Blank() && Time_x0020_In="",{Time_x0020_In:Clock_5.Text, Location: "On Site"});

If(!IsBlank(Form2),

SubmitForm(Form2)&&

Navigate(ThankYouIn, ScreenTransition.Fade))

So it first updates the table if the paramiters are met, but if they are not met I want it to submit form. After each I would want it to navigate to the thank you screen. Both pieces of code work in isolation and both work together but I cannot get them to work Update else work Submit form

Any help is much appreciated however daft I have been.

Rinceward

14 REPLIES 14
Anonymous
Not applicable

Re: I need an Update if Else?

Looks lke you need to simply embed your if statements.  Somthing like...?

If(
    //is this true?
    !IsBlank(Form2),
    //if so do these things
    SubmitForm(Form2);
    Navigate(ThankYouIn, ScreenTransition.Fade),
    //else do these things
    UpdateIf(Table1_14, Name =DataCardValue1.Text && Time_x0020_Out<>Blank() && Time_x0020_In="",{Time_x0020_In:Clock_5.Text, Location: "On Site"});
    Navigate(ThankYouIn, ScreenTransition.Fade)
    )

Rinceward

Hi Philashby

Thankyou for answering my question so quickly.

However this solution does not quite work how I wanted.

I have amended the code slightly to check if record is in table firsdt and that updates fine. However if it does not find that record it doesn't create a new record by subitting the table.