cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 
Leslie
Frequent Visitor

If exists, retrieve and display an item from a SharePoint list in ViewForm, if not exists, open NewForm for creation

Hello Fellow PowerApps Enthusiasts!

Caveat: I am very new to PowerApps, please excuse my ignorance. 

What I have is a PowerApp running off of two SharePoint lists. One list captures custom profile information about each app user. The first list contains a Person/Group field to capture the user's (AD object?) details. The second list holds data entry information entered by each user captured in the first list. 

What I want to do:

When a users logs into the app and clicks on a "My Profile" button:

• check if his "profile information" already exists in the first list
    • If profile information exists, display the list item details in View mode
    • If profile information does NOT exist, prompt user to create profile details by showing new item create form for data entry

What I have tried to do:

• LookUp( List1, User().Email = List1.Profile.Email ) - where Profile is the field name containing the Person/Group object

Fails miserably because it finds no items, even though the list has a record with my data in it. 

Is this too little or too much information? Any pointers would be helpful...

Thank you!

1 ACCEPTED SOLUTION

Accepted Solutions

Is your UPN the same as your email address? The UPN would be the user account your log in with. For most companies the UPN and Email Address but some like the company I work for are different. why this matters is because User().Email actually returns your UPN and not your email address.

--------------------------------------------------------------------------------
If this post helps answer your question, please click on “Accept as Solution” to help other members find it more quickly. If you thought this post was helpful, please give it a Thumbs Up.

View solution in original post

7 REPLIES 7
Jeff_Thorpe
Super User