cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 
aleemj

Incompatible type table, text when trying to Filter based on person

Hi,  I'm a newbie to PowerApps. Would really appreciate assistance with an Incompatible types for comparison: table, text

I have a SharePoint list (Work Assignment) that has a person/group column called 'Assigned To'

I am attempting to Filter a gallery to show items that are assigned to the logged in user only.

I have tried the following with the same result. 

Filter('Work Assignment', 'Assigned To' = User().FullName) and I have also tried:

Filter('Work Assignment', 'Assigned To'.DisplayName = User().FullName)

In both instances I receive the same Incompatible comparison type error. 

Please help as I am a little beyond my depth.

1 ACCEPTED SOLUTION

Accepted Solutions
Jeff_Thorpe
Super User
Super User

If the Assigned To column in SharePoint allows multiple selections then you could do this way but you will get a delegation warning because the "in" operator isn't delegable.

Filter('Work Assignment', User().Email in 'Assigned To'.Email )

--------------------------------------------------------------------------------
If this post helps answer your question, please click on “Accept as Solution” to help other members find it more quickly. If you thought this post was helpful, please give it a Thumbs Up.

View solution in original post

6 REPLIES 6
Mike2500
Super User
Super User

Is assigned to a multi value field? If so, that's quite a bit more complex, as the assigned to would then have a set of rows, not just a single person. Otherwise, your second example looks fine:

Filter('Work Assignment', 'Assigned To'.DisplayName = User().FullName)

Jeff_Thorpe
Super User
Super User

The AssignTo is a record, so you need to reference a column in the record. Try this:

Filter('Work Assignment', 'Assigned To'.Email = User().Email)

--------------------------------------------------------------------------------