cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 
OmniTechGuy
Regular Visitor

Invalid Argument type (Control). Expecting a record value instead. For a patch function linked to a sharepoint list.

Sorry if this is the wrong thread, I'm new here.

I'm new to PowerApps and piecing it together through videos online. I'm attempting to make a self-assessment phone app for covid-19 that records the data input and patches it into the SharePoint list linked to the PowerApps, and I keep getting the error above. It's unclear to me what specifically it's looking for. 

My current patch function looks like this:
Patch('Covid Self Assessment Test',MainScreen,{Names:CBNames,Temperature:TempInput,Date:Now(),Symptoms: Symptom_Toggle,Exposure:Exposure_Toggle,RecentTravel:Travel_Toggle})

Names, Temperature, Date, Symptoms, Exposure, and RecentTravel are all column names in my SharePoint list. Can one even collect and patch the results of a toggle switch over to a SharePoint yes/no column?

Attached is exactly what it looks like so far. Any suggestions on how to get it to work?

6 REPLIES 6
RandyHayes
Super User III
Super User III

@OmniTechGuy 

In your formula, you are referencing the Control and not the actual value.

Consider the following change (you might need to alter based on your actual controls):

Patch('Covid Self Assessment Test',
    MainScreen,
    {Names:CBNames.Text,
     Temperature:TempInput.Text,
     Date:Now(),
     Symptoms: Symptom_Toggle.Value,
     Exposure:Exposure_Toggle.Value,
     RecentTravel:Travel_Toggle.Value
    }
)

I hope this is helpful for you.

_____________________________________________________________________________________
Digging it? - Click on the Thumbs Up below. Solved your problem? - Click on Accept as Solution below. Others seeking the same answers will be happy you did.
Check out my PowerApps Videos too! And, follow me on Twitter @RandyHayes