cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 
Highlighted

Is it possible to create a full ERP/CRM solution using the Power Platform?

(Sorry if this is the wrong forum but wasn't sure exactly where to ask.)

Hello everyone, 

I have been administrating Office 365 for about 3 years and have built a handful of Power Automate Flows as well as Power Apps. 

I'm really enjoying everything the power platform has to offer so far and have decided to start working towards some certifications as well. 

After looking at all the tools available between Power Automate, Business Process Flows, Power Apps, SharePoint, and the CDS - I am wondering if it could be possible (although ambitious) to build out and entire ERP/CRM solution similar to Dynamics 365 using only the Power Platform? In other words, as I learn more about the Power Platform, it looks more and more like it is simply the tools that were used to create the Dynamics 365 products... and that is basically what you are paying for when you purchase Dynamics. (Note- I have not actually used Dynamics 365 myself so my knowledge about it is limited to a conceptual understanding that is a suite of ERP/CRM tools.) 

I would love if someone with more experience could shed some light on the fundamental differences that I may not be considering. 

Thanks! =D

-Dusty

1 ACCEPTED SOLUTION

Accepted Solutions
Highlighted
Dual Super User III
Dual Super User III

It could be done, but its a lot more work than it appears.  Some of the critical CDS entities that relate to doing CRM are restricted in terms of their use specifically to prevent people from writing their own front end to CRM and bypassing Dynamics CRM licensing.  So you would need to create ALL the entities for a CRM system yourself from scratch.  It could be done, but its not worth the effort.

-------------------------------------------------------------------------
If I have answered your question, please mark your post as Solved.