cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 
Highlighted

Issue with collections and updating a Sharepoint List

Hi, I'm hoping for some help trouble shooting the relationship between Sharepoint and my collection. This is my first attempt at app building with Power Apps.

Background

I'm trying to do a simple app that serves as a meeting agenda for a group of users (see attachment)

It is designed so that each user can add agenda item to the list and can update the list.

The user enters an agenda item into the text input, then clicks the [Add to agenda] button

Collect(AgendaItems, {Title:AddItem.Text, AgendaUser:User().FullName}); Reset(AddItem)

This creates a collection called AgendaItems that contains the Title (the description of the agenda item), and the user's full name.

This agenda item is then added to a gallery that displays the agenda:

The gallery is populated from the collection.

If the user wishes to save their addition, they click the [Save agenda] button:

RemoveIf(AgendaList, true);Collect(AgendaList, AgendaItems)

Which clears the existing sharepoint list and updates it with the current version of the collection.

For OnVisible, I have:

ClearCollect(AgendaItems, AgendaList)

Which clears the collection and populates it with the AgendaList before the user begins.

Problem

Now, my latest problem is that the [Save agenda] returns that my AgendaList Sharepoint list can't be found. But this is only an issue with the RemoveIf function, it saves the changes properly. My bigger issue is that agenda items don't properly load from the collection to Sharepoint and vice versa.

Any insight into what could be happening? I'm not absolutely confident in my use of Collect, ClearCollect, and RemoveIf despite having read up on their usages...

I'm open to suggestions for simplifying the whole system (e.g. if there is a way to avoid using collections altogether)

Thanks for reading.

1 ACCEPTED SOLUTION

Accepted Solutions
Highlighted