Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 
stephenkln
Resolver I
Resolver I

LookUp Values from Related SQL Tables

Hi everyone,

This is my first time using Power Apps and my first time posting on this forum, so go easy on the noobie. 😉

The basic scope of the project I'm working on is that I have a SQL Server Express dB that tracks supplemental employee data.

I'm trying to build out an app for viewing and updating employee records in an intuitive way. My rough vision was to have a main gallery listing the employees and on selecting an employee an additional gallery would open up listing the related tables and you would be able to go into each and add/modify records. Anyway, we're not there yet. I'm stuck on step one--just building the first gallery. I'm connected to my SQL data and have the following tables to feed the main gallery.

Employees Tbl

EmployeeIdFullNameJobIdLocationId
1Smith, John11
2Doe, Jane22

Jobs Tbl

JobIdJobTitle
1Some Job Title
2Another Job Title

Locations Tbl

LocationIdLocationName
1Some Location Name
2Another Location Name

I'm trying to set up my gallery like this:

Smith, John
Some Job Title
Some Location Name

Doe, Jane
Another Job Title
Another Location Name

I'm using LookUp to pull job title and location name:

LookUp('[Jobs Tbl]',JobId=JobId,JobTitle)

But what I'm getting is this:

Smith, John
Some Job Title
Some Location Name

Doe, Jane
Some Job Title
Some Location Name

I guess the LookUp function is pulling the first related value from the Jobs Tbl, but irrespective of the employee. I need it to pull the correct Job Title and Location Name for each individual employee.

I'm not sure how to proceed at this point since I'm so new at this. Anyone have any suggests?

19 REPLIES 19

@eka24 I've tried that. I get the following errors that may be related:

The first is an invalid argument error on the "=" in the formula.

screen1.png

The second is a delegation warning. (My dataset does have <500 records).

Screen2.png