cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 
Anonymous
Not applicable

Lookup field sharepoint list with multiple value s

Hi all, 

I'm fairly new to PowerApps and still struggling a bit creating a lookup field to see if an user already exists based on firstname and lastname. I hope you guys can help me out. 

Here it goes:

I have a form with 2 textboxes. 

1. Firstname

2. Lastname

I have a sharepoint list: "User" with columns: P_GivenName_0 and P_SurName_0

On the LastName textbox I created a rule, if it's true then a popup will show stating the user already exists.

!IsBlank(LookUp(User,P_Surname_0 = TB_LastName.Text && P_GivenName_0 = TB_FirstName.Text))
&& !IsBlank(TB_LastName.Text)

It... kinda.... works... But there is a huge flaw..

Let's say I have 2 users:

1. John Doe

2. Jane Smith

If I type in: John Doe, it generates the pop up which is good. But it also generates the popup if I fill in: Jane Doe since the lookup I currently have doesn't do a lookup on a single row but instead looks if the firstname and lastname exists somewhere in the "User" Sharepoint list. 

Any idea how to fix this :)?

Kind regards,

Dennis

1 ACCEPTED SOLUTION

Accepted Solutions

@Anonymous 

Bing!! Lightbulb is on now.  I missed the subtle point that "Jane Doe" was the point that failed in your first post.  Somehow had it in my head "Jane Smith" was the issue.

Okay, now that I'm passed that.  I actually don't see an issue with what you want and what you have.

I have attached a sample App to this post that, I believe, has the exact same logic in a rule and based on the same data.  I also put an option in there for you to review that is not based on a rule.

However, from what I see, either will work fine.

Please take a look at the App (download, save and open in PowerApps desginer - you have to open an existing app and then choose File-Open-Browse to open it)