cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 
ChristopherU
Frequent Visitor

Navigate when a record is selected in Power BI?

Hello! I am new to PowerApps. I am loving it so far but I cannot for the life of me figure out a solution to the problem I am currently facing.

We've built a Power BI dashboard for a client with a PowerApp built-in. Currently, when a user selects a record in Power BI, it filters a gallery in the PowerApp to just the selected record, and then the user can select that record by clicking on the gallery item which takes them to the next relevant screen. This works fine but it is redundant as it effectively forces the user to click the same record twice in two separate places.

What we want is for the app to navigate to the next screen when the user selects the record in Power BI. I feel like I must be missing something, because it seems this would be very simple.

Is it possible to create a listener/event handler that triggers when an item is selected in PowerBI?

Alternatively, since selecting the record in PowerBI filters the data down to only the selected record, I was trying to implement a solution in which the app navigates to the correct screen when CountRows(PowerBIIntegration.Data.<column>) <=1.

Is there a way to set global navigation rules such as this? For example, I have a text label that renders CountRows(...). Can I execute Navigate() every time the value changes based on whether or not it is greater than 1? 

7 REPLIES 7
BCBuizer
Super User
Super User

Hi @ChristopherU ,

Unfortunately I can't test this, but perhaps it's an idea to use a TextInput control to hold, let's say, the title of the selected record in Power BI. You can then use the OnChange property to navigate. If you include a Reset(TextInput), in theory, every time you select a record in Power BI, a navigate action should be performed in PowerApps.

ChristopherU
Frequent Visitor