cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 
RG16CCZ71

Need Help creating a calculated SLA due date column in Power Apps /SharePoint Solution

Hello~

This is my first post and I'm new to the Power Platform community. I need some assistance with the most efficient way and most appropriate application to calculate an "expected due date" SharePoint list column.

Here is the business scenario:

1. User enters preliminary data in Power Apps. For this problem, User selects Document Type (from a drop-down list of 16 total). Each document type have variable SLA business days (5, 10, and 20) associated with them by when the request must be completed (example: DocumentType1, SLA=5 Business Days; DocumentType2, SLA=10 Business Days; DocumentType3, SLA=20 Business Days)
  2. Data  is saved to a SharePoint list when user submits form.
  3. Key fields in SharePoint List for this problem include: Request Date, Document Type, SLA, Standard SLA Date
  4. For each SharePoint List entry, I need to calculate the Standard SLA Date in Business Days, based on the selected Document Type, date of request, and associated SLA for that document type.

I have 2 questions related to this problem:

1. Where is the best place to deliver this solution? In the Power App, as a Calculated Date Column in the SharePoint list, as an independent Workflow, or some other method?
  2. How do I achieve this calculation?

I've experimented some with the following, using =IF(Weekday) formula, but not sure if I'm on the right track or if there is a cleaner, easier way. I'm struggling with out to test the Document SLA in this formula.

=IF(Weekday([Request Date],>1,[Request Date]+7, IF(Weekday([Request Date])>6,[Request Date]+9, [Request Date]+8))

Request DateWeekdayDays to Add (for documents with 5 business day SLA)SLA Due Day
Sunday1+8Monday
Monday2+7Monday
Tuesday3+7Tuesday
Wednesday4+7Wednesday
Thursday5+7Thursday
Friday6+7Friday
Saturday7+9Monday