cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 
elkay73
Helper I
Helper I

Non-profit needs attendance solution

The nonprofit I work for is in need of and attendance (not time) tracking solution.  I am a power user for MS Access but a complete novice with PowerApps.  I need the solution to be web-based in O365 and I believe PowerApps can meet our requirements.  However, I am overwhelmed by the possibilites in PowerApps and need guidance on what parts to build when.  Our ultimate goal is to report the attendance ratio (days attended/days scheduled to attend) by Program, by Attendee, by week, month, and an annual view.  We have over 250 attendees on a daily bases for roughly 33 programs that will need to be accounted for.  I believe storing the attendance data in Excel in OneDrive for Business rather than a Sharepoint list is the best choice.  Other data could be stored in Sharepoint lists such as list of Attendees or list of Programs.  I don't know which would work better: keeping everything in the excel file or a combination of Excel/Sharepoint. 

When attendance is recorded the user will select the program and the shift.  The form should then list and prepopulate as 'Present' only those attendees scheduled to attend on that day for that shift (AM or PM).  The user will then update those that are 'Absent' and store the data to Excel capturing program, attendee, date, shift, attendance.  My biggest challenge on the User Interface input form is that some attendees only come Mondays and Wednesdays, others are Mondays and Fridays, or Tuesdays and Wednesday, really any combination although most are all 5 days M-F.  Company Holidays and attendee vacations also need to be recognized as not required to attend on those days.

I am looking for any suggestions, guidance, comments on how all of you experienced users would tackle this project.

Thank you for your time!

1 ACCEPTED SOLUTION

Accepted Solutions
Drrickryp
Super User II
Super User II

Hi @elkay73