cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 
NaCarns
Helper I
Helper I

Online Portal for Data Entry

Hello. I'm very new to Microsoft Power Apps in general, and I would like some direction regarding a task. 

I have a project that is asking of my team to develop an online portal for data entry. Basically, data (Excel files, potentially other sources later as well) is fed through the portal, entities are created from the Excel datasheets in Dynamics 365, and then Power BI reads from D365 as a data source and dashboards can be created. Also need to define user groups and roles for data input through the portal. The project is already using CRM dynamics 365 so we need to build over it the required entities to feed to the Power BI dashboard. And the portal should be accessible through the current D365 CRM system. How would I best approach this? We can use any Power App available. Or if you have other suggestions, please share.  

From my research, I saw that Power Automate might help; maybe create automated flows? Also came across web Portals in Power Apps but provisioning one to test took forever then failed. I'm stuck and documentation can be very confusing so anything will help. A workflow or reference would also be appreciated.  

Apologies if my post isn't in the right area or the labels are misleading, but I wasn't sure what the solution would fall under. If you need more details regarding something, I'll try providing them. 

Many thanks.

5 REPLIES 5
BCLS776
Community Champion
Community Champion

Welcome, and keep coming back here to search for answers to specific questions that come up during your project. To help you get familiar with the capabilities available under the Power Platform, have a browse through available connectors here. That will give you ideas as to what kinds of data you can easily access and what you can do with it.