cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 
TorreyFalconer
Level: Powered On

Passing value between forms

Hey there, I'm a newbie so sorry in advance.

I have created an app from scratch from excel sheet in One Drive. The Excel sheet has two Tables in it. Table1=Incident Report table, and Table2=Witness Statement table.

In my app,  I have a "Submit an Incident Report" page where they are able to fill out the fields and it will submit to Table1 in my excel sheet. When they fill out this Incident Report form, all fields are in edit mode, except "Incident ID" which is a field in display mode. It creates an ID for each report. This part works just fine.

Here is the complicated part:

I need to be able to add a witness statement (actually multiple witness statements), generated from Table2, to an incident report. So far I have created the witness statment from from Table 2 in the same way as the incident report, I just need help creating a formula that will pull the "Incident ID" from the other form, automatically to the Witness Statement form, but then once submitted, it still needs to submit to the "Incident ID" to the Witness Statement table (table2) in Excel. 

I realize this sounds confusing, any suggestions would very much help.

1 ACCEPTED SOLUTION

Accepted Solutions
Super User
Super User

Re: Passing value between forms

In the OnSuccess of the Form you can set a global variable to the Incident ID of record that was just created/updated. Then you can use that variable on the Witness Statement form.

Example of the OnSuccess formula:

Set(gvLastSubmittedRecord, 'TheNameOfYourForm'.LastSubmit.ID)

*You will need to change the name of the form and ".ID" if that isn't the name of the Incident ID field.

--------------------------------------------------------------------------------