Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 
Oliclusive
Helper I
Helper I

Patch function not working

Hi Community,

it is my first time I use the Pacth function and it seems like I don't really understand how the function can be used to Step 3) of the following scenario :

1) Select a List item in a Gallery > Selected Item is Stored in a Collection "Selection_Open" > Navigate to an Edit Form (OK)

2) Make a manual selection in a Dropdown for the item to add the "reasoncode" > "Stillstandsklassen_Open.SelectedText" (OK)
3) Save the selected Text from Dropdown back to the SQL table for the selected item (the one selected in Step 1 from the Gallery) > error "reasoncode" field is not found (maybe Syntax error?)

I just cant get the Patch function for 3) to work

Attached you find the screenshots, any help from a Pro user is appreciated a lot

Thanks

Oli

1 ACCEPTED SOLUTION

Accepted Solutions

If you are adding new entries, use Defaults in the Patch:

Patch('[dbo].[Werma_DowntimeSlaveData]';Defaults('[dbo].[Werma_DowntimeSlaveData]');
{reasoncode: Stillstandsklassen_Open.SelectedText.Value})
;;
Back(ScreenTransition.Fade);;

------------

If you like this post, give a Thumbs up. Where it solved your request, Mark it as a Solution to enable other users find it.

View solution in original post

13 REPLIES 13
gabibalaban
Dual Super User
Dual Super User

I took a fugitive look to your code ... The are some {....} missing.

The correct format of patch function is:

Patch ( source, record, {name of element: the new value of element, ...}). 

eka24
Super User
Super User

Few questions:

1. What column in the SQL Table are you patching to, Selection_Open or reasoncode

2. Are you patching from a collection or directly from your form

------------

If you like this post, give a Thumbs up. Where it solved your request, Mark it as a Solution to enable other users find it.