cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 
dstortz
Frequent Visitor

Patching Data Source Based on Listbox Selection

I'm new to PowerApps and trying to create an app for asset tracking that allows users to check out assets and check them back in once finished.  I started with the sample asset tracking app and starting modifying it.  I have the check out screen set up with an drop down to select the quantity of the asset being checked out.  When assets are checked in, I want the available quantity to by updated  and increased by the number that were previously checked out and having trouble determining how to do this. 

My data is Excel based, the Products workbook has the available quantity and product details while the Assets has the product checked out, quantity checked out, and by who.  My check in screen has a drop down with the names of the people with items checked out, then a list box with the items they have checked out.  I want to be able to select from the list box, the item(s) to check in, then update the available quantity for check out.  I'm not sure how to go about patching the data based on the selection from the list box, then add the quantity from Assets to the available in Products.  Any help would be much appreciated!

1 ACCEPTED SOLUTION

Accepted Solutions

Hi @dstortz ,

For you first question, why not leave quantity columns in both tables? Then it would be easy to show the quantity of checkout or checkin in the two Forms.

With the quantity field in Assets table, the best way to update Products table would be OnSuccess of the CheckIn Form, formula could be like:

Patch(Products,LookUp(Products,ProductId=ListBox1.Selected.ProductId),{Available:LookUp(Products,ProductId=ListBox.Selected.ProductId).Available+CheckInForm.LastSubmit.Quantity})

So only if the form is submitted successfully, it would patch check in quantity to Products table.