cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 
craigdun

Platform that users can type in a phrase or keywords which can correlate against a document

I'm new to the whole Power App world 

I'm looking for a platform that users can type in a phrase or keywords which can correlate against a document 

I'm a civil eng and when designing need to check or design against a number of standards, I'd like to build some sort of database/platform so less experienced designers can type in a search phrase or keywords that would then identify the document the design needs to be checked against and the section in the document.

If I was designing a footing I could type in concrete and the database would provide an entry that had a link to the standard and the section to check.

I'm new to power apps and have searched the web but there are a million rabbit holes to follow so I thought I ask the community for some guidance. I'm not even sure I'm barking up the right tree, the help and guidance would be appreciated. 

Regards 

Craig

5 REPLIES 5
sam_sonepar
Helper II
Helper II

If you can store these files in a central SharePoint Document Library, you can leverage the top search bar to lookup file names, file content and also list items.

sam_sonepar_1-1616287409168.png

If the files cannot be stored this way, I would try to figure out why (is it a valid reason or just because people don't want to change poor work habits).

Assuming it's a valid reason, map the locations of the files before investigating PowerApps functions.

Thanks Sam 

I have included the document in SharePoint and the search features does work but it does not direct the user to the specific section in the report.

craigdun_0-1616315834573.png

When I open one of the PDF's to search for the term I need to re-type the search term again

craigdun_1-1616316041681.png