cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 
Highlighted
Frequent Visitor

Populate SharePoint list column depending on button in app

I am new to PowerApps and I would appreciate a little push in the right direction.

I have a simple SharePoint list containing an optional text-column and I need to have this field filled in automatically depending on the click of a certain button in my canvas app.

Although the user shouldn't edit the text, I added a Form on the screen, and the DataCardValue shows correctly because I fill it using Set and a variable. Submitting the form also works fine. The problem is, the field remains empty in the new item in the SharePoint list. 

So the question is: how can I fill and submit the field correctly so that it shows in the SharePoint list?

1 ACCEPTED SOLUTION

Accepted Solutions
Highlighted
Super User III
Super User III

Re: Populate SharePoint list column depending on button in app

@Jaleukhoor 

Can you please compare my image below to your app?

Click on the DataCard highlighted in Blue and change the Update property highlighted in Red to DataCardValue12.Text.  Were you able to find the Update property now?  

img1.png

View solution in original post

6 REPLIES 6
Highlighted
Super User III
Super User III

@Jaleukhoor 

The Update property of the DataCard controls what is submitted to the Sharepoint List.  Can you please share what code is being used within that property?

What do you mean by optional-text column?  Is this a single-line text or a Choices Sharepoint column type?

Your usage of the Set variable sounds fine to me at this moment.

---

Please click "Accept as Solution" if my response helped to solve your issue so that others may find it more quickly.  If your thought the post was helpful please give it a "Thumbs Up."

Highlighted
Frequent Visitor

Hi @mdevaney 
- the DataCard does not have property 'Update' available!
- the optional-text column is a single-line text

Highlighted
Super User III