cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 
CasperSeve
Frequent Visitor

Populating dropdown value based on other dropdown

Hi there,

I am quite new to PowerApps so my apologies for this rather simple question.

I have 6 dropdowns with the same items in all of them: "Chosen" and "Rejected". All dropdowns are named Dropdown1, Dropdown2 etc.
If I select Chosen in one of the dropdowns, I want the rest of the dropdowns to automatically select "Rejected", vice versa if I change a Rejected dropdown to Chosen, the whole operation starts again.

How would you solve this? I tried to look at default values but without any luck 😞

Thanks in advance,

/Casper

2 ACCEPTED SOLUTIONS

Accepted Solutions
JR-BejeweledOne
Super User
Super User

Here you go.

On your app load set a variable like this where 'Dropdowns' is the name of the variable:

Set(
    Dropdowns,
      {
        Dropdown1: false,
        Dropdown2: false,
        Dropdown3: false,

Dropdown4: false,

Dropdown5: false,

Dropdown6: false
     }
)

On each of your dropdowns use this formula changing it as needed based on which dropdown you are setting.

Dropdown1 would be:

If(
Dropdown1.Selected.Value = "Chosen", Set(Dropdowns, {Dropdown1: true, Dropdown2: false, Dropdown3: false, Dropdown4: false, Dropdown5: false, Dropdown: 6 false})

)

Dropdown2 would be:

If(
Dropdown2.Selected.Value = "Chosen", Set(Dropdowns, {Dropdown1: false, Dropdown2: true, Dropdown3: false, Dropdown4: false, Dropdown5: false, Dropdown: 6 false})

)

And so on for each dropdown.

Set the default property for each dropdown:

So the default property for Dropdown1 would be:

If(
Dropdowns.Dropdown1 = false, "Rejected",
Dropdowns.Dropdown1 = true, "Chosen",
Dropdowns.Dropdown1 = false & Dropdowns.Dropdown2 = false & Dropdowns.Dropdown3 = false & Dropdowns.Dropdown4 = false & Dropdowns.Dropdown5 = false & Dropdowns.Dropdown6 = false,

""
)   

And the default property for dropdown2 would be:

If(