Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 
sammybridge
Helper IV
Helper IV

Power Apps Errors when Converting Text to Value

Hello,

Ever since the newest release of Power Apps, I have started getting errors that I didn't have before. The bulk of my errors are saying "We cannot convert the value to a number because the value is an empty string" and this is what I have shown below. As you can see though, the string has the number 5 in it and is not blank. This is causing issues throughout the app as the error is showing hundreds of times as this field drives a lot.

Has anyone seen this issue?

sammybridge_0-1618241787513.png

1 ACCEPTED SOLUTION

Accepted Solutions
ModernMusic
Regular Visitor

I just got this issue when I opened my app this morning, I worked in it all day yesterday without any problems but this morning am seeing the same thing.  I've actually seen this once before dealing with formatting dates. 

I believe the problem is that PowerApps is now assessing possible runtime errors of certain variable types BEFORE you might actually encounter them.  For example, now when you launch your app in PowerApps Studio, Text values for which your code block reads Value(DataCardValue78.Text) as shown in your screenshot, are being flagged as possible runtime errors immediately.  This is because when the app launches, DataCardValue78 is blank...EVEN if as a user moves through your app there's no way to submit DataCardValue78 as a blank value, if it's blank when the app launches it is being flagged as a possible future runtime error.