cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 
Anonymous
Not applicable

PowerApps Beginner

Hi,

I am extremely new to PowerApps and would like to know more before I dedicate any more time to research- because I was thinking about using InfoPath.

1. When you submit a PowerApps form, where does it go to? I connected one with my SharePoint list but when I submitted, it didn't show up in the list.

2. How do people access the list- would there be a link to the PowerApps form on SharePoint site like there is with Infopath?

3. I need a lot of different inputs from different people (marketing, finance, regulatory, etc.) and once submitted, I'd like a copy of the form to keep for historical purposes. Can this be easily done with PowerApps?

Thank you so much

1 REPLY 1
Paul_C
Microsoft
Microsoft

Hi @Anonymous,

Thanks for considering PowerApps! 

To answer your questions:

1. It goes to the data source the form is connected to. It will either update an existing record or create a new one, depending on what you tell it to do. Before the data source is changed, though, some things will be checked like, in the case of SharePoint:
    • Whether all the required fields are included on the form if creating a new record. (I expect this is the cause of the problem you experienced. You probably haven't included all the required fields. Right now this isn't very transparent in PowerApps. We have plans to make this experience better.)
    • Whether all the SharePoint validation rules are met.
    • Whether other SharePoint rules for the columns are met, like max length for text columns, and min value/max value for number columns.
  2. You can have a form inside SharePoint. Here's an example: https://powerapps.microsoft.com/en-us/blog/separate-custom-forms/ . Alternatively, you can also just have the PowerApp standalone and you and the other users can find it via the portal (web.powerapps.com) and add it to your phones.