cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 
Highlighted
Frequent Visitor

PowerApps Form: Removing Duplicate Values from a SharePoint List Lookup Column

We have a parent company that owns several smaller companies. I have a master SharePoint list of all the leaders of the smaller companies under the parent umbrella. I have a list in SharePoint with a PowerApps form that has a lookup column to this list of leaders and companies. I need to remove the duplicate values from the CompanyLookup column (Company A has an entry for the President, Vice President, etc.). I found multiple articles and posts that explain the Distinct feature, but all the formulas are different and I can't seem to find the right way to use it. What does not work:

Distinct(Choices([@'Status Change'].Company))

Distinct('Status Change','CompanyLookup')

Distinct(Choices([@'Status Change'].Company),Result)

Distinct (List,ColumnName.Value) (this does not produce an error with a red X, but it renders the dropdown inoperable)

And various other permutations.

How do I craft the expression to make the values of my SharePoint lookup field in my form distinct so that I only see one entry per company?

1 ACCEPTED SOLUTION

Accepted Solutions
Highlighted
Community Support
Community Support

Re: PowerApps Form: Removing Duplicate Values from a SharePoint List Lookup Column

Hi @SmileAndWave ,

Do you mean that:
1)in parent list, you have a Company field and one company may have multiple records?

2)in child list, you have a lookup field (looks up to Company field in parent list)?

3)you want to display no-repeated companies for this lookup field?

Actually, lookup field is a nested table with two columns : Value and Id. Value column is with the value of related field(Company) value, Id column is with the value of related item's ID value.

So could you tell me:
if you have Duplicate Values for CompanyA, which ID do you want to update for this company? I assume that the first ID.