cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 
tagustin2020
Level: Powered On

Re: PowerApps Formula Question: Filter Gallery by Current User combined with text input keyword search

Thank you for the advice. I'll look more into Collections and Patching tomorrow and let you know how it works out. I really appreciate you taking time out of your busy day to try to help me.

Highlighted
tagustin2020

Re: PowerApps Formula Question: Filter Gallery by Current User combined with text input keyword search

Hello Eelman,

I really appreciate your advice, but being a newbie I'm afraid I need some more advice despite watching numerous tutorials from Audrie, Shane and Laura to figure out how to apply Collection principles to my particular situation.

One thing I haven't seen covered in the tutorials is how to create as you say a Display Collection from the Original. Can you explain that part please? I don't see a "Save As" type functionality so I'm not quite sure how to do that. Also, you mention using result when using the Distinct function, but I don't see the Distinct function specifically mentioned in the formulas you so kindly provided, just the word "result". Can you explain that part as well?

Lastly, new request data will be added to the SharePoint site via a form in the app. How do I make sure the Collection is automatically refreshed so the data they see in the gallery is always current?

Thanks again. I'm so grateful for your help.

Kind regards,

Teresa

Eelman
Level 10

@tagustin2020 

I've been working on a similar solution for one of my apps and I think this may fix your issue? On the Items property of your Gallery add this code:

Filter(‘Tool Design Support Request’, ’Creator Email’ = varUser.Email &&

If(!IsBlank(Dropdown1.Selected.Result), Status.Value= Dropdown1.Selected.Result,true))

- you may need to correct some syntax errors ... I usually rely on PowerApps to correct me lol