cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 
MarkSL
Frequent Visitor

PowerBI Integration Query - Accessing passed values

Hi there,

I'm pretty new to PowerApps, but hoping the below is understandable...

We want to add a PowerApp visual to our Power BI Report page which will capture selected values from a Power BI table (Sales Person Name, Period, Sales Qty etc) and then have form which will allow the user to add some comments.  When they press Save, I want the selected Sales Person values and the comment from the form to be written to a Sharepoint List.  I am not really bothered about having the Power BI report instantly update with the written record, I simply want to capture the report values and comments into the SP List.

(We would prefer to write the data direct to SQL, however this is a Premium Connector, therefore using a SP List as a 'staging' table before setting up a Flow to move write the records into SQL)

Very basic mock up of the Power BI Report page:

MarkSL_0-1619478177313.png

To get the values of the selected Sales Exec and their associated values, I need to start my App from within Power BI by dragging the datafields into the PowerApps visual and then Create the app.

The App which gets launched contains a Gallery which has Items = 'PowerBIIntegration'.Data.  The individual labels display the correct value from the report, eg:  Text = ThisItem.'Sales Person'.   At this point there is no actual data source in the App, my understanding is that the Power values are injected / passed into the app.

I want to now add a form, which is connected to my SP List and populate the fields with the Power Bi values in the Gallery along with some additional comments.  I have started doing this by setting the value to: Gallery1.Selected.'Sales Person'.

Is there a better way to access the Power BI values in the App or is Gallery1.selected the only way?

Thanks

Mark

1 ACCEPTED SOLUTION

Accepted Solutions
v-xiaochen-msft
Community Support