cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 
Dkerr

Prevent Duplicate Inserts During a Patch in Button's OnSelect

I have a Sharepoint list in which one of the items is a date field. 

The entry should be the first day of the month as I am using it for setting goals for the month.  

I assume there is some way to validate that the user entered:

"month"/01/"year"

as well I want to either on entry of the date check to see if there is a record with the same date to avoid a duplicate record or at the least upon submittal check and not add the record.

I am new to PowerApps and not sure how to do figure out this quickly.  I looked at Patch but I am not sure that is what I want.

Any help would be appreciated.  

1 ACCEPTED SOLUTION

Accepted Solutions
mr-dang
Community Champion
Community Champion

@Dkerr wrote:

The entry should be the first day of the month as I am using it for setting goals for the month.  

"month"/01/"year"

I would recommend that you have PowerApps choose this automatically for your user. You can do this by adding a DatePicker control, setting its DisplayMode to Disabled, and setting its Default date to:

Date(Year(Today()),Month(Today()),1)

This means the default date will be equal to this year, the current month, and the first day of the month. Revise the blue part if you want the user to choose a different month.

powerapps set default date.png

@Dkerr wrote:

as well I want to either on entry of the date check to see if there is a record with the same date to avoid a duplicate record or at the least upon submittal check and not add the record.

You can use a condition to perform or not perform an action:

If(IsEmpty(Filter(datasource,date=DatePicker1.SelectedDate)),
    Patch(datasource,Defaults(datasource),
        {date: DatePicker1.SelectedDate,
            field2: data2,
            field3: data3
        }
    )
)