cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 
Jltitus
Frequent Visitor

Prevent duplicate list entries on SharePoint list displayed as combobox

Hi,

I have a SharePoint list with a PowerApps form (SubmitName). The form is to submit names for a program by entering the users email address. When submitting the form, I would like to check whether the persons' name already exists in the list "SPName" field. If it does, I would like an error message displayed.

List name is "Applicants List"

Field in list to check is "SP Name". This field is a People/Group field in the SharePoint list.

I've been searching  like crazy but I don't see a solution for my scenario. Here's what I've come up with so far.. but it doesn't work. Any assistance is welcome as I'm new to PowerApps.

If(
!IsBlank(LookUp('Applicants List',SPName=DataCardValue2.Selected.Value))
Notify("Record already exists", NotificationType.Error);
SubmitForm(SubmitName);
Notify("Request successfully submitted", NotificationType.Success);
NewForm(SubmitName)

1 ACCEPTED SOLUTION

Accepted Solutions
Jltitus
Frequent Visitor

@WarrenBelz Thanks for the assist. I tried your suggestion above but it throws an error on the "Value". The SPName field is pulling from the users O365 account, would that make a difference?

View solution in original post

3 REPLIES 3
WarrenBelz
Super User
Super User

Hi @Jltitus ,

You need to refer to the field type element and were also missing some commas and brackets

If(
   !IsBlank(
      LookUp(
         'Applicants List',
         SPName.DisplayName=DataCardValue2.Selected.Value
      )
   ),
   Notify(
      "Record already exists", 
      NotificationType.Error
   ),
   SubmitForm(SubmitName);
   Notify(
      "Request successfully submitted", 
      NotificationType.Success
   );
   NewForm(SubmitName)
)