cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 
Hairyjeremy

Problems using MS guide for creating apps using dependent drop down lists

Hi,

This is my first attempt at building a PA. I needed to use dependent drop down lists, so I've been following this MS guide: https://docs.microsoft.com/en-us/powerapps/maker/canvas-apps/dependent-drop-down-lists

My app is more or less working but there are a couple of bugs I can't seem to resolve. I've already read through and applied the fixes provided in the feedback on this article. I don't think I am the first to encounter these issues, but they don't seem to have been answered in the feedback:
1. Although selectable and dynamic in the app, 'Department' results don't seem to be reported to the s/p list. Instead, seemingly as a default the app appears to report a result from the 'Location' list, and this doesn't change when you select different 'Locations' or 'Departments'.
2. When you select a new 'Location', and 'Department' in the app, if the 'Department' selected is not top of the List then when you submit the completed form, the 'Department' changes from the one you selected to the 'Department' at the top of the list. Because of the first bug, I have no idea if this is just a display issue, or if the wrong result would be submitted. If you re-select the 'Department' you wanted, without change the 'Location' it doesn't seem to do it.

Appreciate that this is from an old thread, but as the MS guide is still out there, this may be of help to others using it.

Thanks community!

1 ACCEPTED SOLUTION

Accepted Solutions
CNT
Community Champion
Community Champion

Hi @Hairyjeremy try changing the update property of the Project Title Data card to ddProjectTitle.Selected.'Project Title'

View solution in original post

9 REPLIES 9
CNT
Community Champion
Community Champion

@Hairyjeremy would you mind sharing some screen shots to better understand the issue.

Thanks for engaging @CNT