cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

Questions about hyperlinking/onselect pulling from an excel sheet

So this is my first time using power apps and I apologize if this is not the correct place to post this. I'm also a newbie when it comes to ALL of this so any guidance at all would be wonderful.

I'm pulling all of my data from excel and sharepoint. What I am trying to do is have a button, or datacard that when OnSelect(ed) opens up a PDF from our sharepoint website. So far using Launch: ("URL") won't appear as a clickable link.  Am I missing another part or is this not something Powerapps is capable of? Would it make more sense to just house the PDF as a jpeg or something instead? 

3 REPLIES 3
Community Support
Community Support

Hi @BrandenC,

My understanding about your issue is that you have an Excel stored in SharePoint document library, and the Excel contains a column of PDF file links which are also stored in SharePoint document library. Is my understanding correct? 

Anyway, I just tested with a button and I changed the font format as below:

Capture.PNG

Then set its OnSelect property to:

Launch("https://XXXXX.sharepoint.com/sites/TeamSite/Shared%20Documents/test.pdf")

Capture.PNG

After I click on the button, it will launch my PDF file directly in my default browser. Please notice to add the quotation marks. Launch("....."). Also, the URL should be like https://XXXXX.sharepoint.com/sites/TeamSite/Library/test.pdf. 

And if your PDF is stored in SharePoint library then I'm afraid that you cannot view PDFs that reside in libraries unless the library allows anonymous access. See here:

https://powerusers.microsoft.com/t5/PowerApps-Ideas/PDF-Viewer-support-for-PDF-documents-in-Sharepoi...

Regards,

Mona

Community Support Team _ Mona Li
If this post helps, then please consider Accept it as the solution to help the other members find it more quickly.

Hey,

Thanks for your reply, I apologize for taking so long to respond.