cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 
Samo2005
Frequent Visitor

Referencing SharePoint field within PowerApps

Hi everyone I am new to PowerApps and I have a question.

Sorry for the long post.

We have a SharePoint list used for checking stock-taking, every month the purchasing list items they want branches to do a stocktake. so we have columns like the name of the item, internal code, manufacturers code etc.. and Leeds, Sheffield, Derby etc..

So every month branch manager would get the list and he/she carries out a stocktake and comes to the list to find his branch i.e. Sheffield (a choice type) and enter yes or No.

What I want to do is filter the rows for a specific branch. So the manager only sees his/her own stock lines that they need to update and then changes the value to Yes or No.

I can get the manager's branch from Office 365 and I am wondering if

Branch = Sheffield then find the column called Sheffield and filter the rows for Sheffield and return the value Yes or No.

Can this be done?

Cheers

Wessam                      

6 REPLIES 6
BrianS
Super User
Super User

Not sure exactly how your data is structured but this should get you the info you need:

https://docs.microsoft.com/en-us/powerapps/maker/canvas-apps/functions/function-filter-lookup

Hi @Samo2005 

One way to accomplish your goal is to create a global variable for the User's branch when the app is opened and then use that variable to filter the data source for your galleries.  Something like

Set(brnch, Lookup(Outlook365, Email=User().Email, Branch) 

in the OnStart property of the app and 

Filter(datasource,Branch=brnch)

in the Items property of a gallery.

Hi BrianS 

Thank you for your reply, I attached a screen showing of the list column structure and I need to retrieve the name of the column rather than True or False.

Cheers for looking.

Wessam