cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 
Highlighted

Related Tables in Power Apps -SQL connected

I'm new to Power Apps.

I'm trying to make my Customer History AWA (access web app) data available for edit/add/view on a phone.

I've created a connection to a table (customers) in SQL (Office 365) and an app has automatically been created showing the customers data in the table.

In the newly created app I've connected another table with Customer History (customer history has a lookup to customers)

Is it possible to create more screens in the same App based on the customer history table?

Once done does Podware Apps already 'know' the relationship between customers and customers history tables or do I need to do something?

I don't need lots of details yet - just need to know if it is possible to relate the data and build forms to display/edit/add related records?

If it is possible where do I find out how to do it?

Thanks for any advice

5 REPLIES 5
Highlighted
Power Apps
Power Apps

Re: Related Tables in Power Apps -SQL connected

Currently PowerApps will not now all the existing relationships, however you can certainly add new screens and do the relationships on the client.

In particular for example you could add a new screen (say CustomerHistoryScreen), and in teh Customer screen add a button on the Gallery to navigate to that screen and when you do that you can pass the "record" in the context (like Navigate(CustomerHistoryScreen, Fade, {BrowseRecord: ThisItem}).

Then in the CustomerDetailsScreen, you could add a Gallery and set the Items to the Customer Details data source filtered by the ID, for example Filter(CustomerDetails, CustomerID = BrowseRecord.CustomerID). That way it will display the records of that customer only.

You can follow the same for Inserts and Updates, but depending on the app you might need to rely in using Patch instead of the Form control.

Highlighted

Thank you I'll give that a try 🙂

Highlighted