cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 
Pieter_NL
Frequent Visitor

Retrieve a record from SQL source to a form with a button outside the form.

Hi all,

I'm new to powerapps, I have experience in regular programming so it's kinda frustrating to trying to figure out how to do something really basic. 

I have a form that's linked to a SQL table. But I want to retrieve a record based on a ID I enter in a textfield outside the form, after I click a button.

See attached image for reference.

Anyone can point me in the right direction?

Thanks in advance!

1 ACCEPTED SOLUTION

Accepted Solutions

Hi @Pieter_NL 

The form has a property called Item. This defines the record that the form displays.

If you want the form to display the record that matches the ID that a user enters into a text input control, you would set the Item property to the following:

LookUp('[dbo].[SQLTable]', IDField=txtIDField.Text)

If your SQL ID field is numeric, you'll need to convert the text input to a value.

LookUp('[dbo].[SQLTable]', IDField=Value(txtIDField.Text))

This technique will work without a button. If you need to use a button, you would set the OnSelect property of the button to store the text input control value into a variable by calling the Set function. You would then modify the LookUp function to reference the variable, rather than the text input control.

View solution in original post

5 REPLIES 5
eka24
Super User
Super User

I will recommend you insert a Gallery and Put the TableName in the Items Property.

Then on the Items Property of the Form put: Gallery1.Selected.

Thus whatever you select in the Gallery including the number will be populated on the form.

------------

If you like this post, give a Thumbs up. Where it solved your request, Mark it as a Solution to enable other users find it.

Pieter_NL
Frequent Visitor

Thanks I tried that, but I do not like a gallery because the table can have hundreds of records.