cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 
ggeorge
Frequent Visitor

Retrieve an ID from SQL table after patching a record to it

Hi

I'm fairly new to PowerApps. I have two forms in my app, one called Supplier and another called Supplier Services. 

On the Supplier form I have a submit button:

Patch('[dbo].[tblCompany]',Defaults('[dbo].[tblCompany]'),{Name: TextInput1.Text});Navigate(SupplierServices,ScreenTransition.Fade)

Now on the Supplier Services screen, I need to get the value of the ID back from SQL for the newly patched Company so that I can assign services against that company. 

On the submit button of the Supplier Services form I want to patch the services across, along with the SupplierID

Patch('[dbo].[tblSupplierServices]',Defaults('[dbo].[tblSupplierServices]'),{SupplierID:Value(TextInput3.Text),ServiceType: ComboBox2.Selected.ServiceID});Navigate(SubmissionScreen,ScreenTransition.Fade)

At the moment I can't seem to recall the ID, I have played around with variable but have had no joy.

Is there a way? 

Many thanks

Gareth

1 ACCEPTED SOLUTION

Accepted Solutions
timl
Super User III
Super User III

Hi Gareth,

The return value from Patch includes any server generated identity values. If you did this for example,

ClearCollect(NewCompany,
             Patch('[dbo].[tblCompany]',Defaults('[dbo].[tblCompany]'),{Name: TextInput1.Text})
)

... you could use NewCompany.ID to retrieve the identity value that SQL Server generates.

The same method applies if you were adding multiple records via Collect, as I mentioned here:

https://powerusers.microsoft.com/t5/General-Discussion/Can-you-return-primary-key-ID-after-DB-insert...

Hopefully, this gives you enough to work with. If not, let us know.

View solution in original post

4 REPLIES 4
TML
Advocate II
Advocate II