cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 
Helper I
Helper I

Screen Layouts and Gallerys

First of this is my first time posting and I want to say hello to everyone in power app land!...

I couldn't find this answer searching the forums or you tube videos so here it goes. I am making a scheduling app for my company and I am throwing around a few designs. The big issue for me right playing around with screen layouts. This app will be used on different size screens and tablets. (I`m hoping anyways)...

I can get rectangles, buttons and other control items to scale with screen sizes but for the love of god I cant get galleries to scale with the screen size.

I ether have waste space on the right of the screen or its way to wide . The gallery that I am using is just a horizontal view of  a work week. Monday thru Friday with dates of the  current week.

Any help would be great!

Thanks,

Greg

1 ACCEPTED SOLUTION

Accepted Solutions

Greg,

Glad that worked. When I do these types of auto-size / auto-location exercists I like to draw it out on a piece of paper and then map my coordinates, helps me visualize but I was a draftsman back in the day (yes that dates me).

If you want to center something  then take the width of the area that you have available, lets just say you have the full screen. so App.Width. Then subtract the width of the component (gallery in your case - Gallery.Width) and divide it by 2 (equal spacing on each side). So, what you end up with is an expression in the Gallery.X property of;

(App.Width - Self.Width )/2

You would apply the same for vertical centering using Height in the Gallery.Y property.

(App.Height - Self.Height )/2

To get a bit more complicated but you get the basis of the pattern. Let's say you have 3 objects you wanted evenly distributed across the a screen but the area was between and X of 500 and and X of 1000.