Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 
masterp
Helper I
Helper I

Search SharePoint List and Display last value entered

Hello Everyone,

Sorry, I'm new to development and PowerApps and have a question for the community. 

I'm currently, working on an app for our company in which form entries are automatically collected and stored in a Sharepoint list.  Each entry has a unique identifier column and for any new entry we would like to collect the previous entry for that unique identifier.

For Example:

User1@contoso.com submits an entry for vehicle VIN (Unique Identifier) and then opens the form later on to submit another entry for that same VIN.

User2@contoso.com  submits an entry for vehicle VIN (Unique Identifier) and then opens the form once again to submit another entry for the same VIN.

DateEmailVIN (Unique Identifier)Starting Mileage
08/03/20user1@contoso.comXXXX12345,000
08/03/20user2@contoso.comXXXX43258,000
08/04/20user1@contoso.comXXXX12345,050
08/04/20user2@contoso.comXXXX43268,200

Is it possible to for PowerApps Form entry to automatically pull the previous information for that VIN (Unique Identifier).

For example:

New Form Entry:

DateBlank
EmailBlank
Vehicle VIN (Unique Identifier)Select
Starting Mileage:

If the above VIN is selected, look at the last entry submitted for that VIN and display value here.

Is this possible?

Thank you,

26 REPLIES 26

@RandyHayes 

Step Number 3 - Did not work because the column type is a "Choice" and looks like function does not work for this type of column.  If I change to another column type: "Single Line of Text" it works. Please view the image below.

Vehicle VIN Type: Choice

masterp_0-1601321175255.png

Let me know what you think.

@masterp 

I would have never suspected that your VIN column was a choice.  I would have (based on the nature of the variety and number of VINs) guessed that it was a standard text column.

Yes, this changes everything.