Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 
Highlighted
Anonymous
Not applicable

Search display in Browse Gallery

I'm new to this all so please bear with me,

I've got an app based of a sharepoint list.  I used create app function in sharepoint to build the app.  In the browse gallery screen I would like the information displayed to be different than than the default that came.  

This is what I currently have:

SortByColumns(Search('Appointment Book', TextSearchBox1.Text, "Student_x0020_First_x0020_Name"), "Student_x0020_First_x0020_Name", If(SortDescending1, Descending, Ascending))

I want it to display results based of the "modified" column instead of the "Student_x0020_First_x0020_Name" column.  I tried just reaplacing the column name but that gave be back blank results.  I think its because the modifed column is date/time and the search function works with strings?  Will using filter work and if so how?

Thanks,

Matt

1 ACCEPTED SOLUTION

Accepted Solutions
Highlighted
Community Support
Community Support

Re: Search display in Browse Gallery

Hi Mauth,

Thanks for updating.

Currently, StartsWith function can be used with Filter function to search the data within your app, please see this documentation about StartsWith function for more details:
https://powerapps.microsoft.com/en-us/tutorials/function-startswith/

As you are using Search function, so when you use StartsWith function with it, an “invalid argument type” error would be shown.

I tried to configure the code looks like below, it is displayed based on a Date/Time column, and it just works fine:
SortByColumns(Search(listF,TextSearchBox1.Text,"Title"),"date_x0020_only",If(SortDescending1,Descending,Ascending))

Best regards,
Mabel Mao

Community Support Team _ Mabel Mao
If this post helps, then please consider Accept it as the solution to help the other members find it more quickly.

View solution in original post

4 REPLIES 4
Highlighted
Community Support
Community Support

Hi Matt,