cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 
kriggo15
Post Patron
Post Patron

Searching on multiple columns in gallery

Preface: I'm pretty new to PowerApps. I have a gallery that is linked to a SharePoint List. I want to be able to search across all fields with one search box. I can get it working when searching for 1 field but when I try to modify it to search across multiple fields, it breaks.

Details:

SP Online List Name: Data Stewards

Fields: Area, Steward Name, Type of Steward

Working function when searching across 1 field: SortByColumns(Filter([@'Data Stewards'], StartsWith(Title, TextSearchBox1.Text)), "Title", If(SortDescending1, Descending, Ascending))

What modifications need to be made to the above function to be able to use 1 search box and search across all 3 fields?

16 REPLIES 16

I appreciate everyone's feedback/suggestions. I got it working withe name field but when I try with Type or Business Area, it says that the type is unsupported for evaluation. All 3 of these fields are single lines of text in the SharePoint list.

Update - Just got this working. Apparently I was choosing the wrong field.

kendallsmith
Regular Visitor

Hi, I am unsure of how to combine two search functions together. For instance, I have 

Search('PC',txtRF.Text, "and the column name")

and then 

Search('PC',txtPF.Text, "and the column name")

They both work individually but, I am unsure how to combine both of them.

Thank you!

@kendallsmith 

Search('Source', TextSearchBox1.Text, "Column1", "Column2", "Column3")

how would I go about with two different text boxes with two different columns? So I want a search for RF which is one filter and then another text box for PF so it is another filter box. I don't want to combine them into the same box.

notj
Post Prodigy
Post Prodigy

@kendallsmith I haven't nested searches, but I know you can nest Filters. Here's an example:

Solved: Multiple Search - Power Platform Community (microsoft.com)