cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 
kriggo15
Post Patron
Post Patron

Searching on multiple columns in gallery

Preface: I'm pretty new to PowerApps. I have a gallery that is linked to a SharePoint List. I want to be able to search across all fields with one search box. I can get it working when searching for 1 field but when I try to modify it to search across multiple fields, it breaks.

Details:

SP Online List Name: Data Stewards

Fields: Area, Steward Name, Type of Steward

Working function when searching across 1 field: SortByColumns(Filter([@'Data Stewards'], StartsWith(Title, TextSearchBox1.Text)), "Title", If(SortDescending1, Descending, Ascending))

What modifications need to be made to the above function to be able to use 1 search box and search across all 3 fields?

1 ACCEPTED SOLUTION

Accepted Solutions

Hi @kriggo15 ,

1)You could set this formula about creating collection to an action that will automatically perform.

For example, the app's OnStart, the screen's OnVisible, a combo box's OnChange,etc.

2)I suggest you use Filter function and in operator.

Try this:

Filter(StewardList,TextSearchBox.Text in Steward Name||TextSearchBox.Text in Business Area|| TextSearchBox.Text in Type of Steward)

Best regards,

Community Support Team _ Phoebe Liu
If this post helps, then please consider Accept it as the solution to help the other members find it more quickly.

View solution in original post

16 REPLIES 16
Edwin-Abdalian
Solution Supplier
Solution Supplier

Depends on your search terms, you would need to separate your search conditions by either And (&&) or Or||. for example:

SortByColumns(Filter([@'Data Stewards'], StartsWith(Title, TextSearchBox1.Text)) || StartsWith(SecondColumn, TextSearchBox2.Text)), "Title", If(SortDescending1, Descending, Ascending))

--------------------------------------------------------------------