Search instead for 
Did you mean: 
Kmamdoh3550
Frequent Visitor

Set text Input text by a button

i am new to powerapps, just a simple question

i have a textinput name = test and it is blank

a button with default values

i just want to click on that button and set the text for the test textinput to something like " Hello"

i tried every function nothing succeeded like :

Onselect property for the button

test.Text = "Hello"

Set(test.Text,"Hello")

Please help

1 ACCEPTED SOLUTION

Accepted Solutions

I found a way to do this...

So - what you need to do is:

1.  Set the Default property of the TextInput (e.g. TextInput1) to a variable (e.g. VAR_TI1_Def)

2.  On the button click, update the value of the variable and then reset the TextInput like this.

UpdateContext({VAR_TI1_Def:"New Text to show in the Text Input field for TextInput1"});Reset(TextInput1)

Final:  The Reset() function resets a text input to its default value.  You could potentially update the default value in any number of ways - so this is just one example of how to do what you're asking.  Sorry for the late reply, I've been on sabbatical from Powerapps for over a year. 🙂

View solution in original post

15 REPLIES 15

Yay. This is one that doesn't work the way you (and me) think it should. 

What you will need to do is set the Text for your TextInput to a variable. Var1 for example.

Then set your button OnSelect to UpdateContext({Var1: "Hello"})

Now when you press the button your text will change. 

Shane - Microsoft MVP, YouTube, and PowerApps Consulting for when you are in a bind to get this fixed quickly. And finally we now have PowerApps Training

Sorry as i said i am new 🙂

would you please tell me the steps to set a variable for a text input ?

For your label set the Text property to Var1

TextVar.PNG

Shane - Microsoft MVP, YouTube, and PowerApps Consulting for when you are in a bind to get this fixed quickly. And finally we now have PowerApps Training