Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 
AGroegelich
Helper III
Helper III

Setting default values in new form

Hi All,

I am new to PowerApps and struggling with the NewForm modus.

I have created an EditForm for modifying records. It has a few fields from the primary table and two dropdown boxes for related tables. My data source is an Excel sheet with several tables. My EditForm is working fine for modifying records.

But when I try to add a new record I have a few problems.

1. One particular field of the primary table needs to be filled with a default value.
  2. The dropdown boxes are not cleared and are still pointing to a value of the previous record a viewed in edit mode. I would like to point them to the first item of the list which says something like “Make a selection”.

Default property of the DataCards of these fields says ThisItem.<MyField>. It is my understanding that this is cleared in FormMode.New, which makes sense. However I would like to make that conditional base on te FormMode.

So my questions are:

1. Is there a way to find in what mode the EditForm is? I tried to figure out in the documentation but didn’t find it yet.
  2. Is there a better way to let dropdown boxes to the first item then setting the default property?
  3. Is there a better approach then what I am trying to do right now?

7 REPLIES 7
eka24
Super User
Super User

1. Is there a way to find in what mode the EditForm is? I tried to figure out in the documentation but didn’t find it yet.

Form.Mode=FormMode.Edit   (You can use if codintion for this)

2. Is there a better way to let dropdown boxes to the first item then setting the default property?

To avoid Default Selection, Delete the first item on your excel sheet so that it will be blank (Dropdown always   default to the first item on the list

1. Is there a better approach then what I am trying to do right now?

Try the above and get back if there are issues