cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 
Highlighted
Frequent Visitor

Sharepoint document library

Hi,

I am a beginner to power apps. My problem is that I have a SharePoint document library and I would like to share folders (a collection of documents) and keep track of comments with a timestamp and user. Since comments on a folder with these logging requirements are not supported on sharepoint, I was thinking of creating a powerapp which will allow me to share a folder and keep track of comments,timestamp and user in a custom column. Is this possible first of all and is it a good solution?  Also are there good tutorials online that can get me started to connect a powerapp with a document library and access column data and user data?

1 ACCEPTED SOLUTION

Accepted Solutions
Highlighted
Community Support
Community Support

Re: Sharepoint document library

Hi @Kind ,

Do you want to create an app about updating comments on file in sharepoint library?

If so, here's my advice:

1)create a sharepoint library to upload files

2)create a sharepoint list to record comments for these files with these fields:

a multiple line of text column :record comments

a lookup field(lookup to the ID in  sharepoint library): choose related file

(No need to add person field and time field, there will be metadata fields: Created, Created By)

3)in your app

connect with this list and this library

(Please notice that you could only view column data of library in powerapps, you could not view file content in powerapps)

insert gallery1, set its Items: libraryname

insert gallery2, set its items:

Filter(listname,lookupfielname.Value=Gallery1.Selected.ID)

//then gallery2 will only display the comments for the selected file

insert "+" button, set its OnSelect:

Navigate(Screen2);NewForm(Form1)

set the arrow button's OnSelect inside gallery2:

Navigate(Screen2);EditForm(Form1)