cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 
Chicago1919
Frequent Visitor

Sharepoint list form - customize form vs. Canvas App

Hello all,

I am very new to PowerApps.  Currently, we are looking to replace our on prem Sharepoint with Sharepoint Online and thus I am looking to recreate forms we currently have on prem, in PowerApps.  I see there are basically 2 options, using "customize form" in Sharepoint and creating Canvas Apps.  Can someone tell me what the difference between the 2 options are?  I've seen that access is different - custom form would use a link to the form directly in SP; Canvas app can be accessed via the web or via the PowerApps mobile app.  As our users are used to using a link to the Sharepoint form now, I'm leaning on just going that route.  Also, I don't know if our users would get a warm and fuzzy by going to an app that isn't custom to our site and is generically called PowerApps.

Any reason why I might NOT go the SP custom form route and instead choose to create Canvas Apps for SP?  Are the licensing requirements different between the 2 or do both require the same Office 365 license (if premium connectors aren't used)?  I see so many resources on creating Canvas apps vs. the custom SP form which makes me wonder if I should go the Canvas App route due to possible limitations in the custom SP forms?  Looking for path of least resistance also.

Any and all advice is welcome.

Thank you!

Christine

1 ACCEPTED SOLUTION

Accepted Solutions

Hi @Chicago1919 ,

People could use canvas apps in browsers via a link. Please refer to below doc to see how to share an app with others:

https://docs.microsoft.com/en-us/powerapps/maker/canvas-apps/share-app