cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 
IngoTSV
Regular Visitor

Sharepoint-multiselect Column in PowerApp not shown

Hi there,

I have a simple sharepoint list, which has the Contact Column (for a name) and a multiselect choice column for Hobbies. So you can enter a name and one or multiple given hobbies for this name. I now want to build an App, where I can enter a hobbie and find all the names, that have this hobbie.

With a combobox I can select one or more hobbies with "Choices('contacts'.'hobbies')" and in a dropdown I can filter for the sorted result with "Sort(ComboHobbies.SelectedItems.Value;Value)", but I always fail when trying to show the name based on that selection anywhere. Can you help me out? I am pretty new to PowerApps and watched 10h of videos, but somehow does not help. 😞

Cheers

Ingo

7 REPLIES 7
Jeff_Thorpe
Super User
Super User

In your app you could have a dropdown that displays all the hobbies and the have a gallery that displays all the users that have the selected hobby.

example:

Dropdown > Items > Choices('contacts'.'hobbies')

Gallery > Items > Filter(Contacts, Dropdown.Selected.Value in Hobbies.Value)

You will get a delegation warning because "in" isn't a delegable operator in SharePoint. By default the non-delegation query limit is 500 but you can increase that 2000 by going into advance settings of the app. If the contact list has less items than the non-delegation query limit then you should be fine.

--------------------------------------------------------------------------------
If this post helps answer your question, please click on “Accept as Solution” to help other members find it more quickly. If you thought this post was helpful, please give it a Thumbs Up.
ajdhingr
Microsoft
Microsoft

@IngoTSV do you still have the issue ? Please let us know 

Hi Jeff,

formulars works including the delegation error, but there is no content in the gallery 😞