cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 
mvandelinde

Sort, Filter and Grouping in a gallery

Hi Everyone, I'm fairly new to PowerApps and hoping you can help...

Right now I have a gallery(below) where I am showing the logged in user their tasks that are ready to be worked on. These tasks can be associated with multiple projects, and will not always be "created" at the same time so I can't rely on that to keep tasks from the same project together. I would like to add a GroupBy to this but can't figure out the details. 

Some more information: This is backed by Sharepoint lists. Most of the columns are coming right out of my CommsProjectTasks list, but the Project name in the first column is coming from a list called CommsFormData. LookUp(CommsFormData, ID=ThisItem.CommsProjectID, Title)

mvandelinde_0-1621517171326.png

Thank You!

1 ACCEPTED SOLUTION

Accepted Solutions
RandyHayes
Super User III
Super User III

@mvandelinde 

Yes, so I don't believe you want to go down the road of GroupBy in this case as that really is about data shaping.  It seems your answer would be to simply sort by the project name and then perhaps by something else perhaps secondary - like a date.

That would give you a gallery with all the project names together and (if a secondary sort by date) perhaps by date.

Does this seem more reasonable? 

_____________________________________________________________________________________
Digging it? - Click on the Thumbs Up below. Solved your problem? - Click on Accept as Solution below. Others seeking the same answers will be happy you did.
Check out my PowerApps Videos too! And, follow me on Twitter @RandyHayes

View solution in original post

5 REPLIES 5
RandyHayes
Super User III
Super User III

@mvandelinde 

Are you really sure that GroupBy is what you want?  Or, are you trying to simply group the Project names "together" in the gallery?